Everyone is welcome here! Whether you have allergies, sensitivities, hypersensitivities, or intolerances, this blog is for you. While the primary focus is for allergies, I have all of the above and welcome anyone to my blog.

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Hidden and Not-so-hidden Milk Ingredients

If you are allergic to milk, you may be consuming it in your foods without realizing it. 

If you are reading labels carefully, you might see a label that states "contains milk". Then you read the ingredients but can't figure out where the milk is in your "non-dairy" product. Well, that's because some ingredients aren't called milk, but come from milk.

Here is a list of things to look for on your food labels when you are trying to figure out if it has milk or not. The ones with a * MAY contain milk.

I am listing the obvious ones (like buttermilk) and the not so obvious ones (like casein).


Glass of Milk. From: RoshniPaulSoulSearches
Milk Ingredients List/ Foods that contain milk
  • Acidophilus Milk
  • Ammonium Caseinate
  • Artificial Butter Flavor
  • Artificial Flavoring *
  • Butter
  • Butter Fat
  • Butter Oil
  • Butter Solids
  • Buttermilk
  • Buttermilk powder
  • Calcium caseinate
  • Casein
  • Caseinate, in general
  • Caramel flavoring *
  • Cheese, All animal based
  • Condensed milk
  • Cottage Cheese
  • Cream
  • Curds
  • Custard
  • Delactosed whey
  • Demineralized whey
  • Dry milk powder
  • Dry milk solids
  • Egg Nog (So Delicious Coconut Milk Nog is Dairy Free!)
  • Evaporated milk
  • Fat replacer *
  • Flavoring
  • Galactose *
  • Ghee (clarified butter)
  • Goat milk
  • Half and Half
  • High protein flour *
  • High Protein foods * (for example (High energy bars)
  • Hot Dogs *
  • Hydrolyzed casein 
  • Hydrolyzed milk protein
  • Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein or HVP *
  • Ice cream
  • Ice milk
  • Iron Caseinate
  • Kefir 
  • Koumiss or Kumiss
  • Lactalbumin
  • Lactic Acid Starter Culture *
  • Lactic Yeast
  • Lactitol monohydrate 
  • Lactobacillus *
  • Lactoferrin
  • Lactoglobulin
  • Lactose
  • Lactulose
  • Low-fat milk
  • Luncheon Meat *
  • Magnesium Caseinate
  • Malted milk
  • Margarine * (most contain whey)
  • Milk
  • Milk derivative
  • Milk fat
  • Milk powder
  • Milk protein
  • Milk solids 
  • Natural butter flavor
  • Natural Flavoring *
  • Nisin preparation
  • "Non-dairy" cheese * 
  • "Non-Dairy" products * (may contain whey or casein)
  • Nonfat milk
  • Nougat
  • Paneer
  • Potassium caseinate
  • Prebiotics
  • Protein foods *
  • Pudding
  • Quark
  • Recaldent
  • Rennet Casein
  • Rice Cheese *
  • Sausage
  • Skim milk
  • Simplesse®
  • Sodium caseinate
  • Sour cream
  • Sour Cream Solids
  • Sour milk solids
  • Soy Cheese *
  • Sweetened condensed milk
  • Sweet whey
  • Whey
  • Whey powder
  • Whey protein concentrate
  • Whey protein hydrolysate
  • Whipped cream
  • Whipped topping
  • Whole Milk
  • Yogurt
  • Zinc Caseinate
Is this list a little long? Don't panic! Kids with Food Allergies has a printable card you can take with you to help you remember these. Not all milk ingredients are on the card since I am getting the list from a few sources. It will give you a good head start though. 

Printable Cards! From Kids With Food Allergies

You can find the printable milk allergy travel card here.

Here is a larger one that you can print and put on your fridge. Click here to see it.

See something that needs to be on this list?

Did I miss something that contains milk? Shoot me an email and I'll add it to the list.


Reading around the web:
Go Dairy Free A very helpful website with a lot of information for avoiding milk and milk derivatives.

Resources for this post
My experiences with trial and error

No comments:

Post a Comment